什么是加密货币?

2021年5月4日

加密货币的名字来源于两个概念——密码学和货币。加密货币之所以如此命名,是因为加密技术用于保护加密货币所在的数字网络。

加密货币可以做什么?

加密货币最初被设想为一种数字形式的货币,旨在促进快速和廉价的在线交易。

最著名的加密货币是比特币,于 2009 年首次推出。比特币本身旨在成为传统货币的直接替代品,并优先在没有第三方参与的情况下以 BTC 代币执行在线交易。

因此,比特币的使用和“能力”在很大程度上仅限于作为一种价值储存手段,以及一种在当时相对便宜和高效的交换媒介。

在 2021 年初的最后一次统计中,有近 9,000 种不同类型的加密货币。除了能够将它们兑换为其他类型的加密货币和法定货币之外,其中一些没有太多的实用性。然而,现在更多的它们具有设计用于执行的各种功能。例如,以太币是作为一种货币来为以太坊网络提供动力的,并不像比特币那样纯粹用于交易。

在 2010 年代的最后几年,具有各种用例的加密货币的开发加速了,我们现在可以看到各种在视频流、金融、体育和广告等行业中具有实用性的加密货币。

了解法定货币

如图: 美元,世界上流通量最大的法定货币
来源: 像素

上面提到的法定货币是指由政府发行的货币,没有任何基础的有价实物资产支持。例如,过去在金本位制下,美元与黄金挂钩(每盎司黄金 $35),美国政府必须按照发行美元数量的特定比例来保管实物黄金。

然而,世界在 1971 年尼克松冲击事件中醒来,美国单方面废除了黄金与美元的可兑换性。从那时起,世界上大多数现代货币都缺乏支持资产或商品,而是由发行它的政府担保。这种法定货币的例子是美元、英镑,甚至新加坡元。

深思熟虑: 如果法定货币的问题是它们没有实物资产支持,那么像比特币这样的加密货币是由什么支持的?

法定货币引起了加密货币社区的极大兴趣,因为许多人认为比特币是对当局对 2008 年金融危机管理不善的直接反应。

这方面的证据散布在比特币的创始文件中,以及创世区块——有史以来开采的第一个比特币区块(基本上只是一个字母和数字的列表),标题为“The Times 03/Jan/2009 Chancellor on brink对银行的第二次救助”。

加密货币与区块链

许多(但不是全部)加密货币使用区块链数据组织方法来确保其数据库的安全性和完整性。因此,加密货币是一个与区块链截然不同的独立概念。

区块链本身是指一种技术和数据存储方法,以按时间顺序组织的方式记录数据,非常难以欺诈。

依赖区块链技术的加密货币在大型独立计算机(节点)网络中复制并同时处理其交易分类账,从而导致系统几乎不可能秘密更改,因为这样的“坏人”必须获得对大多数人的控制权大多数独立和分散的网络。

验证者的激励系统是加密货币的关键

如图: 通过支付提供商的传统信用卡支付。支付提供商通常会收取费用以实现无缝支付体验。


来源: 像素

在传统的两方交易中,银行等受信任的第三方通常会使用自己的基础设施和方法来处理交易,并相应地收取处理交易的费用。

加密货币不依赖银行等第三方来记录和保证交易。相反,他们中的大多数依靠激励结构来吸引付费“志愿者”来帮助验证相同的交易。当今最常见的两种激励系统是工作量证明 (PoW) 和权益证明 (PoS)。

在这两个系统中,这些系统通过用新铸造的加密货币奖励他们作为验证者来吸引“志愿者”。因此,这使原始交易者的交易成本保持在较低水平,同时为人们充当交易验证者提供了自然的激励。

图表: 工作量证明激励系统下的一般加密货币交易的简单视图

在过去的 20 年中,这种激励系统已经被构思和完善,PoW 系统于 2004 年由 Hal Finney 首次构想,作为保护数字货币的一种方式。因此,这些数字系统对现代黑客方法具有很强的抵抗力。然而,由于 PoW 激励结构下的能源密集度要求越来越高,许多主要的加密货币(如 Ether)正在迁移或采用 PoS 激励系统。

更多教育文章

区块链通常是指将数据按时间顺序排列,离散(可独立计数)的块的数据存储技术。数据块都有自己的

更多 >

比特币是一种数字货币,在著名的比特币白皮书《比特币:点对点电子现金系统》出版后于2009年推出。

更多 >

注意:我们认为了解 XRP 需要对公司 Ripple 及其与 XRP 的关系有一定的了解,我们将继续介绍

更多 >

What are cryptocurrencies?

04 May 2021

Cryptocurrencies derive their name from two concepts – cryptography, and currencies. Cryptocurrencies were named as such because of the encryption techniques that are used to secure the digital network on which the cryptocurrencies exist upon.

What can cryptocurrencies do?

Cryptocurrencies were originally envisioned to be a digital form of currency, meant to facilitate quick and cheap online transactions.

The most famous cryptocurrency is Bitcoin, first launched in 2009. Bitcoin itself was meant to be a direct alternative to traditional currencies, and prioritised executing online transactions in BTC tokens without a third-party getting involved.

Bitcoin’s usage and “abilities” are therefore largely restricted to being a store of value, as well a medium of exchange that was relatively cheap and efficient for the time.

At last count in early-2021, there are nearly 9,000 different kinds of cryptocurrencies. Several do not have much utility behind them besides being able to exchange them for other kinds of cryptocurrencies and fiat currencies. However, even more of them now have a whole variety of functions that they were designed to perform. Ether tokens for instance, were made as a currency to power the Ethereum network and was not meant purely for transactions the same way that Bitcoin was.

Development in cryptocurrencies with various use cases has accelerated during the last years of the 2010s, and we now can see a wide variety of cryptocurrencies with utility in industries such as video-streaming, finance, sports, and advertising.

Understanding Fiat currencies

Pictured: The US Dollar, the world’s most circulated fiat currency
Source: Pexels

Fiat money as mentioned above refers to currencies that are issued by governments, and are not backed by any underlying physical asset of value. For instance, the US dollar used to be pegged to gold ($35 per ounce of gold) under the gold standard, where the US government had to safekeep physical gold in a specific proportion to the amount of dollars issued.

However, the world awoke to a new state of affairs in 1971 in the Nixon Shock, where the USA unilaterally abolished the convertibility of gold into dollars. Since then, most modern currencies worldwide have lacked a backing asset or commodity, but is instead guaranteed by the government that issued it. Examples of such fiat currencies are the US Dollar, the Pound Sterling, and even the Singapore Dollar.

Food for thought: If a problem of Fiat currencies is that they are not backed by a physical asset, what are cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin backed by?

Fiat currencies are of immense interest to the cryptocurrency community, as many believe that the Bitcoin was created as a direct reaction to the perceived mismanagement of the 2008 Financial Crisis by the authorities.

Evidence for this is scattered around Bitcoin’s founding documents, as well as the Genesis Block – the first ever block of Bitcoin mined (which is basically just a list of letters and numbers) containing the headline “The Times 03/Jan/2009 Chancellor on brink of second bailout for banks”.

Cryptocurrencies vs. Blockchain

Many (but not all) cryptocurrencies use blockchain data organisation methods to ensure the security and integrity of their databases. Cryptocurrencies are therefore, a distinct and separate concept from blockchain.

Blockchain itself refers to both a kind of technology and data storage method to record data in a chronologically organised way that is incredibly difficult to defraud.

Cryptocurrencies relying on blockchain technology have their transaction ledgers duplicated and simultaneously processed across a large network of independent computers (nodes), resulting in a system that is nearly impossible to alter surreptitiously as such a “bad actor” would have to gain control over a majority of the mostly independent and spread-out network.

Incentive systems for validators are key to cryptocurrencies

Pictured: Traditional credit card payment through a payments provider. Payment providers typically charge a fee for enabling a seamless payments experience.


Source: Pexels

In traditional transactions between two parties, a trusted third-party such as a bank usually processes the transaction with their own infrastructure and methods, and correspondingly charges a fee for handling the transaction.

Cryptocurrencies do not rely on a third-party like a bank to record and guarantee transactions. Most of them instead rely on an incentive structure to attract paid “volunteers” to help validate the same transactions. The two most common incentive systems today are Proof-of-Work (PoW) and Proof-of-Stake (PoS).

In both, these systems attract “volunteers” by rewarding them with newly minted cryptocurrencies for helping to act as a validator. Thus, this keeps transaction costs for the original transactors low, while providing a natural incentive for people to act as a validator for transactions.

Diagram: A simple view of a general cryptocurrency transaction under the Proof-of-Work incentive system

Such incentive systems have been conceived and refined over the last two decades, with the PoW system being first conceived in 2004 by Hal Finney as a way to secure digital money. As a result, these digital systems are highly resistant to modern hacking methods. Due to the increasingly energy-intensive requirements under the PoW incentive structure however, many major cryptocurrencies such as Ether are migrating to or adopting the PoS incentive system.

More Educational Articles​

Blockchain typically refers to a data storage technology/technique that arranges data into chronologically ordered, discrete (separately countable) blocks. The data blocks all have their own

Read More >

Bitcoin is a digital currency that was launched in 2009, following the publication of the now-famous Bitcoin whitepaper titled “Bitcoin: A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System”.

Read More >

Note: We feel that understanding XRP requires some understanding of the company Ripple and its relationship to XRP as well, as we will go into

Read More >