什么是比特币?

2021年5月4日

比特币是一种数字货币,于 2009 年推出,紧随现在著名的比特币 白皮书 标题为“比特币:点对点电子现金系统”。因此,比特币也可以被定义为一种无需中间人进行交易的无信任公共账本。

最初创建时,比特币的支持者称赞它具有以下功能。

请记住,在 2009 年,向海外汇款不一定是最简单或最便宜的事情,比特币因其在点对点系统中实现即时支付的新颖方式而迅速引起了人们的注意,同时保持网络去中心化并且超出了任何一个演员的控制能力。

比特币如何运作:挖矿

通过记住以下三个参与者,以及他们如何通过称为挖矿的过程进行交互,可以对比特币有一个基本的了解。

任何使用比特币网络的人(交易者)都依赖于一个由独立个人和公司组成的网络,这些个人和公司自愿使用他们的计算能力(矿工)来验证和处理他们的交易(采矿)。成功验证的交易记录在一个数据块中,然后将其作为最新的块添加到无休止的“数据块”链(区块链)中。该链可以追溯到 9 号上的第一个交易块 2009 年 1 月。

一个简单的思考方式是,矿工本质上是一个由匿名审计员组成的去中心化全球网络,所有这些人都致力于每十分钟验证一组相同的交易。然而,扭曲的是,只有一名审计员在这十分钟的时间结束时获得报酬。

在这一点上,精明的读者会注意到,对比特币最简单的解释可能是它只是一个非常非常长的交易列表,同时由分类账网络更新。

比特币的奖励系统激励矿工验证交易

当个人通过银行等中间人进行交易时,中间人总是收取费用来维护系统以及提供该服务。如果没有费用,银行和其他中间商就没有动力维护这样的支付系统,而且向其他人,尤其是海外汇款,将是一件乏味而昂贵的事情。

然而,当通过比特币网络进行交易时,包含费用的交易者通常会更快地处理他们的交易,但通常不需要包含费用。但是,如果交易的复杂性增加——例如一次性将比特币发送到多个地址,则将收取费用。当区块被添加到区块链时,费用将支付给获得区块奖励的矿工。

除了交易者偶尔向矿工支付费用之外,比特币的创造者还进一步设计了一个激励系统,以吸引矿工自行处理所有比特币交易。在该系统下,比特币交易的验证者每 10 分钟竞争一次由网络创建和分发的新铸造的比特币,作为帮助验证数据块的挖矿奖励。

鉴于如今比特币的天文价格,比特币奖励经常受到激烈竞争,矿工大军配备了极其强大的计算设备,通过帮助验证通过网络进行的每笔交易来争夺新的比特币。

挖矿奖励每4年减少一次

将新比特币添加到网络的唯一方法是通过将新块添加到区块链时给予的奖励(因此背后的术语是说新比特币被开采)。

图表: 每年比特币的大约总供应量

虽然每 10 分钟铸造和分发新的比特币作为挖矿奖励,但比特币的总量存在硬上限——2100 万。截至 2020 年底,世界上大约有 1860 万个比特币,这意味着当时只有大约 240 万个新比特币仍然可以作为挖矿奖励被创造和分配。

当比特币于 2009 年首次推出时,当一个新区块每十分钟成功添加到区块链时,矿工就会收到 50 个 BTC 代币。支付的时间是不可改变的,自比特币诞生以来就没有改变。

然而,奖励的 BTC 数量被硬编码为随着时间的推移而下降,模仿通货膨胀率放缓。为了实现这一目标,每开采 210'000 个区块,BTC 奖励就会减半,也就是大约每 4 年一次。最后一次减半发生在 2020 年 5 月,比特币奖励第四次减半,每开采一个区块支付 6.25 BTC。

减半事件已成为备受关注的事件,因为它们往往伴随着比特币价格的大规模上涨。

比特币参与者是匿名的吗?

使用比特币或加密货币可以让演员保持匿名,这有点像城市神话。

下图是来自真实开采区块的公开可见区块交易。

资料来源:Bitcoin.com 的比特币资源管理器 676205座, 交易时间为 1554HRS

  1. 寄件人地址
  2. 发送的 BTC 数量
  3. 收货人地址
  4. 扣除费用后收到的 BTC 数量
  5. 通过网络发送 BTC 的费用

请注意,发送者和接收者的身份以字母数字字符串表示。虽然通常很难辨别发送者和接收者的身份,但这也并非不可能。给定交易金额、时间和日期,并通过观察涉及同一发送者或接收者的其他交易,训练有素的专业人员很可能通过适当的方法推断出许多进行比特币交易的人的身份。

更多教育文章

区块链通常是指将数据按时间顺序排列,离散(可独立计数)的块的数据存储技术。数据块都有自己的

更多 >

加密货币的名称来源于两个概念-加密和货币。加密货币之所以这样命名,是因为使用了加密技术

更多 >

注意:我们认为了解 XRP 需要对公司 Ripple 及其与 XRP 的关系有一定的了解,我们将继续介绍

更多 >

What is Bitcoin?

04 May 2021

Bitcoin is a digital currency that was launched in 2009, following the publication of the now-famous Bitcoin whitepaper titled “Bitcoin: A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System”. Accordingly, Bitcoin can also be defined as a trust-less public ledger, where transactions are conducted without middlemen.

When first created, proponents of Bitcoin lauded it for the following features.

Keeping in mind that sending money overseas was not necessarily the easiest or cheapest thing to do in 2009, Bitcoin was quickly attracted attention for the novel way it approached achieving instant payments in a peer-to-peer system, while keeping the network de-centralised and beyond any one actor’s ability to control.

How Bitcoin Works: Mining

A rudimentary understanding of Bitcoin can be achieved by remembering the following three actors, and how they interact through the process known as mining.

Anyone who uses the Bitcoin network (transactors) is relying on a network of independent individuals and companies who volunteer their computing power (miners) to validate and process their transactions (mining). Successfully validated transactions are recorded in a data block, which is then added as the latest block in an unending chain of “data blocks” (the blockchain). This chain dates back to the first ever block of transactions on the 9th of January, 2009.

An easy way of thinking about this, is that miners are essentially a de-centralised global network of anonymous auditors, all of whom are working on validating an identical set of transactions every ten minutes. However, the twist is that only one auditor gets paid at the end of that ten minute period.

At this point, astute readers will notice that the simplest explanation possible of Bitcoin is that it is simply a very, very long list of transactions simultaneously updated by a network of ledgers.

Bitcoin’s reward system incentivises miners to validate transactions

When individuals conduct transactions through a middleman such as a bank, the middleman always charges a fee to maintain the system, as well as for the provision of that service. Were there no fees, banks and other middlemen would have no incentive to maintain such a payments system, and sending money to other people, especially overseas, would be a tedious and expensive affair.

When conducting transactions over the Bitcoin network however, transactors including a fee generally have their transactions processed faster, but the inclusion of a fee is typically not necessary. Fees will be charged however, should the complexity of the transaction increase – such as sending Bitcoin to multiple addresses at one go. The fees will go to the miner who receives the block reward when the block is added to the blockchain.

Beyond the sporadic payment of fees from transactors to miners, the creators of Bitcoin further devised an incentive system to attract miners to process all Bitcoin transactions of their own volition. Under this system, validators of Bitcoin transactions compete for newly-minted Bitcoin created and distributed by the network every 10 minutes as a mining reward for helping in the validation of data blocks.

Given the astronomical price of Bitcoin these days, Bitcoin rewards are often bitterly contested, with armies of miners armed with incredibly powerful computing rigs fighting for new Bitcoin by helping to validate every transaction going through the network.

Mining rewards are reduced every 4 years

The only way that new Bitcoin can be added to the network, is through the rewards given when new blocks are added to the blockchain (hence the terminology behind saying that new Bitcoin is mined).

Chart: Approximate total supply of Bitcoin annually

While new Bitcoin is minted and distributed as a mining reward every 10 minutes, there is a hard cap on the total amount of Bitcoin that can ever exist – 21 million. As of end-2020, the world had around 18.6 million Bitcoin in existence, meaning that only around 2.4 million new Bitcoin could still be created and distributed as mining rewards at that point.

When Bitcoin was first launched in 2009, miners received 50 BTC tokens when a new block was successfully added to the blockchain every ten minutes. The timing of the disbursement is immutable, and has not changed since Bitcoin’s inception.

However, the amount of BTC rewarded was hard-coded to decline over time, mimicking a slowing rate of inflation. To achieve this, BTC rewards are halved every 210’000 mined blocks, which translates to around every 4 years. The last halving happened in May 2020, where Bitcoin rewards were halved for the fourth time to 6.25BTC disbursed per block mined.

The halving events have become highly watched events, as they tend to be followed by massive rallies in Bitcoin’s price.

Are Bitcoin participants anonymous?

It is a bit of an urban myth that using Bitcoin or cryptocurrencies allows actors to remain anonymous.

The following picture is a publicly viewable block transaction from a real mined block.

Source: Bitcoin.com’s Bitcoin Explorer for Block 676205, transaction at 1554HRS

  1. Sender’s address
  2. Amount of BTC being sent
  3. Receiver’s address
  4. Amount of BTC received net of fees
  5. Fee to send the BTC across the network

Note that the sender and receiver’s identities are represented in an alpha-numeric string. While it would normally be difficult to discern the identity of the sender and receiver, it is far from impossible. Given the transaction amounts, time and date, and by observing other transactions involving the same sender or receiver, it is highly possible that trained professionals with the appropriate methods can deduce the identities of many people conducting transactions with Bitcoin.

More Educational Articles​

Blockchain typically refers to a data storage technology/technique that arranges data into chronologically ordered, discrete (separately countable) blocks. The data blocks all have their own

Read More >

Cryptocurrencies derive their name from two concepts – cryptography, and currencies. Cryptocurrencies were named as such because of the encryption techniques that are used to

Read More >

Note: We feel that understanding XRP requires some understanding of the company Ripple and its relationship to XRP as well, as we will go into

Read More >