什么是莱特币?

2021年5月4日

1. 比特币的“精简版”

莱特币 由 Google 工程师 Charlie Lee 于 2011 年构思,他称它是“精简版” 比特币.在保留他们认为很好的比特币的关键特性的同时,他们同时改变了他们认为可以改进的比特币的某些方面。

2. 莱特币处理交易的速度比比特币快

莱特币验证交易的速度大约是比特币的 4 倍——大约需要 2.5 分钟,比特币需要 10 分钟。这意味着每 2.5 分钟,该时间范围内所有交易的一个区块(分类账)就会被生成、验证并添加到区块链的末尾,同时新的 LTC 代币被铸造并分发给矿工,以帮助验证交易。

3. 与比特币的主要区别在于其挖矿的复杂性

比特币 使用 SHA-256——一种更复杂的算法,需要更先进的“采矿设备”才能获得难以捉摸的奖励。 莱特币 使用比较简单的 密室 取而代之的是算法,旨在使挖掘 Litecoin 变得更容易,而无需越来越复杂的挖掘方法和设备。

从本质上讲,与比特币相比,这使得拥有现成计算机或较小矿工池的个人更容易开采莱特币——相比之下,比特币挖矿生态系统本身已经发展到令人难以置信的复杂水平,复杂的硬件需求产生了数十亿- 美元加密硬件行业,以及由此产生的比特币挖矿网络每年消耗一个小国的电力。

4. 永远只有 8400 万个 LTC

截至撰写本文时(2021 年),有 6600 万个 LTC 代币在流通。莱特币以每 2.5 分钟 12.5 LTC 的速度增长,在减半事件中,每 4 年左右铸造的新 LTC 数量减半——类似于 BTC。

5. 莱特币交易非常“便宜”

它只需要花费 1/1000 LTC 来处理任何规模的交易。以 2020 年的价格 ($200) 计算,每笔交易的价格为 $0.20 – 同样是 任何尺寸,对于现代支付公司来说,这是一种财务上毁灭性的商业定价。

更多教育文章

区块链通常是指将数据按时间顺序排列,离散(可独立计数)的块的数据存储技术。数据块都有自己的

更多 >

加密货币的名称来源于两个概念-加密和货币。加密货币之所以这样命名,是因为使用了加密技术

更多 >

比特币是一种数字货币,在著名的比特币白皮书《比特币:点对点电子现金系统》出版后于2009年推出。

更多 >

What is Litecoin?

04 May 2021

1. “Lite” version of Bitcoin

Litecoin was conceived in 2011 by Google engineer Charlie Lee, who stated it to be a “Lite” version of Bitcoin. While retaining key features of Bitcoin they felt were good, they simultaneously changed some aspects of Bitcoin they felt could be improved.

2. Litecoin processes transactions faster than Bitcoin

Litecoin can validate transactions approximately 4 times faster than Bitcoin – taking around 2.5 minutes, to Bitcoin’s 10 minutes. This mean that every 2.5 minutes, a block (ledger) of all transactions within that timeframe is generated, validated, and added to the end of the blockchain, while new LTC tokens are minted and distributed to miners helping to power the validation of transactions.

3. Major difference to Bitcoin lies in their mining complexity

Bitcoin uses the SHA-256 – a more complex algorithm that requires ever more advanced “mining equipment” to garner elusive rewards. Litecoin uses the relatively simpler Scrypt algorithm instead,  designed to make it easier to mine Litecoin without the need for increasingly sophisticated mining methods and equipment.

In essence, this makes it easier for individuals with off-the-shelf computers or smaller pools of miners to mine Litecoin, as compared to Bitcoin – the Bitcoin mining ecosystem itself has evolved to incredibly sophisticated levels by comparison, with complex hardware requirements spawning billion-dollar crypto hardware industries since, and the resulting Bitcoin mining network chewing through a small country’s worth of electricity annually.

4. There will only ever by 84 million LTC

As at time of writing (2021), there are 66 million LTC tokens in circulation. Litecoin is growing at a rate of 12.5 LTC every 2.5 minutes, with the amount of new LTC minted getting cut in half every 4 years or so in a halving event –  similar to BTC.

5. Litecoin transactions are incredibly “cheap”

It only ever costs 1/1000th of a LTC to process a transaction of any size. At prices seen in 2020 ($200), that works out to $0.20 per transaction – again, of any size, a financially ruinous business pricing for modern payments companies.

More Educational Articles​

Blockchain typically refers to a data storage technology/technique that arranges data into chronologically ordered, discrete (separately countable) blocks. The data blocks all have their own

Read More >

Cryptocurrencies derive their name from two concepts – cryptography, and currencies. Cryptocurrencies were named as such because of the encryption techniques that are used to

Read More >

Bitcoin is a digital currency that was launched in 2009, following the publication of the now-famous Bitcoin whitepaper titled “Bitcoin: A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System”.

Read More >