什么是XRP?

2021年5月4日

注意: 我们认为了解 XRP 需要对 Ripple 公司及其与 XRP 的关系有所了解,我们将在下面详细介绍。

1. 波纹是 不是 瑞波币

波纹 是一家软件解决方案公司,向金融机构销售支付软件,同时也提供货币兑换和汇款解决方案。该公司于 2012 年成立于 开放币, 在将自己重命名为 瑞波实验室 然后只是 波纹 在 2015. 他们的主要产品是 瑞波网,一个全球支付网络,承诺快速和廉价的国际支付。

Ripple 与 XRP 不同且独立. 为清楚起见,Ripple 已声明他们不拥有或控制 XRP 分类帐。

2. 什么是瑞波币?

瑞波币 是一种数字货币,于 2004 年由 瑞安 富格,位于温哥华的软件开发商。 2012 年,Ryan 将 XRP 的控制权交给了 杰德 麦卡勒布克里斯 拉森,然后谁创立了 开放币 (如上所述)与 Arthur Britto。

XRP 的主要用途是促进交易 瑞波网. XRP 充当法定货币(例如美元)之间的桥梁,允许人们以低成本以数字方式高速汇款。与比特币(分钟)相比,XRP 可以在几秒钟内处理交易,并且还可以处理更高的交易量。

3. RippleNet 上的交易非常快速且便宜

RippleNet 上的交易平均需要大约 3 到 5 秒的时间来处理,使其比比特币、以太坊和莱特币更快。交易价格为每笔交易 0.00001XRP。此外,XRP 代币中的金额在从总交易价值中扣除后被“销毁”,并且永远不会添加回流通的 XRP 池中。因此,从理论上讲,XRP 的供应量是有限的。

4. XRP是“预挖”的,不会产生新的XRP

1000亿 瑞波币 与比特币、以太坊和莱特币形成鲜明对比的是,随着新区块被添加到区块链中,新的代币会定期铸造。

然而,大多数 XRP 被锁定在流通之外,今天只有 450 亿个 XRP 在流通,其余大部分被 Ripple 锁定。

5. 然而,XRP 代币 不是 比大多数其他加密货币“更便宜”

一个普遍的看法是,在低于 $1 每 瑞波币 代币,与 XRP 相比,XRP 便宜 比特币, 以太坊LTC.然而,当考虑到 XRP 的流通量时,XRP 实际上一直排在前 10 大加密货币中,排在 LTC 之前。

例子: 莱特币流通量 6600 万 LTC,价格约为 $200(市值 $12B)。相比之下,流通的 450 亿 XRP 的价格约为每个代币 $0.55(市值 $26B)。

截至 2021 年 3 月,XRP 的价格一直在 $0.55 左右交易,使其市值为 $27B,使其成为 7 在所有加密货币中。从这个角度来看,XRP 应该被视为比莱特币“更贵”,目前 10 按市值计算。

现在继续讨论投资者应该了解的 Ripple 方面:

6. 瑞波币仍然持有 超过一半 现有的所有 XRP 代币

如前所述,当 Ripple 的创始人获得 1000 亿个 XRP 代币时,它们的分配如下:

  • Ripple(公司):800 亿 XRP
  • Jed McCaleb(创始人):90 亿
  • 克里斯·拉森(创始人):70 亿
  • Arthur Britto(创始人):40 亿

波纹 自 2012 年以来,XRP 已售出约 250 亿个,同时将剩余的 550 亿个保留在托管中。锁定大部分代币的行动是在 2017 年采取的,以提高 XRP 持有者的信心,即 Ripple 不会将其代币倾销到市场上,从而导致其价格暴跌。

总体而言,Ripple 认为持有 XRP 代币会激励公司改进支付解决方案

杰德·麦卡勒布 定期出售他持有的 XRP,目前持有约 4.8 亿个 XRP。另一方面, 克里斯 拉森 仍然拥有大约 50 亿个 XRP。

5. 每月高达 10 亿 XRP 投放市场

公司每月定期发布最多 10 亿个代币进行销售。该公司每季度发布“XRP 市场报告”,其中详细说明了从托管中移除的 XRP 代币的月度数量、代币的售价、资金用途以及有多少代币被重新托管。

5. Ripple 的部分资金来自他们拥有的 XRP 代币的定期销售

该公司已公开表示他们正在使用这些代币的销售收益来资助他们的运营 同时盈利,否则他们可能会亏损。这一直是批评的来源,并且仍然是一个主要的争论点,可能会阻碍 RippleNet 的主要机构投资和使用。

6. Ripple 以 XRP 支付客户使用 RippleNet

Ripple 已宣布与全球“200 多家”金融机构建立合作伙伴关系,使用 Ripple 的各种解决方案。 CEO 本人经常宣称 Ripple 处理的交易量以每季度“100%”的速度增长。然而,详细的交易信息从未公布。

当在 2019 年直接被问及公司是否获得了与 Ripple 签约的激励时,他们的首席执行官布拉德加林豪斯表示“这取决于它们的形状、规模和类型以及优先级有多高”。

在 2020 年初,人们发现 Ripple 与全球汇款公司速汇金的高调合作使 Ripple 实际上向这家在纳斯达克上市的公司定期付款,在 2019 年上半年达到 $11.3M。

自 2018 年以来,MoneyGram 通过他们的合作伙伴关系从 Ripple 收到了超过 $60M 的 XRP 作为“市场开发费”。这些付款以 XRP 形式支付,并作为“市场开发费”提供,作为对 MoneyGram 的“开发和带来流动性的补偿”外汇市场”。

截至 2021 年 3 月,MoneyGram 以 Ripple 与美国证券交易委员会 (SEC) 正在进行的诉讼为由宣布终止合作伙伴关系。

7. XRP 的去中心化是有争议的

Ripple 使用自己的验证交易方法,即“Ripple 协议共识算法”(RPCA),而不是像比特币(也称为比特币挖矿)等知名加密货币使用的“工作量证明”。

在 RPCA 上的大约 1,000 个验证者中,Ripple 选择了一个大约 36 个验证者的列表——“唯一节点列表”(UNL),充当最终仲裁者来完成交易。 Ripple 将 UNL 指定为参与者认为不会欺骗他们的验证器。但是,目前未指定获得 UNL 的当前标准列表。总而言之,UNL 是独特的元素,它允许 XRP 非常快速和廉价地处理交易,因为与其他加密货币相比,验证器是集中的。

然而,值得注意的是,自 2012 年推出 Ripple Ledger 以来,很少有默认 UNL 之外的验证器进入此列表的情况,尽管 Ripple 现在直接控制了具有 6 个节点的网络的一小部分(全网约16%).多年来,这一百分比一直在稳步下降,因为 Ripple 旨在进一步去中心化 XRP。

更多教育文章

区块链通常是指将数据按时间顺序排列,离散(可独立计数)的块的数据存储技术。数据块都有自己的

更多 >

加密货币的名称来源于两个概念-加密和货币。加密货币之所以这样命名,是因为使用了加密技术

更多 >

比特币是一种数字货币,在著名的比特币白皮书《比特币:点对点电子现金系统》出版后于2009年推出。

更多 >

What is XRP?

04 May 2021

Note: We feel that understanding XRP requires some understanding of the company Ripple and its relationship to XRP as well, as we will go into detail below.

1. Ripple is not XRP

Ripple is a software solutions company that sells payment software to financial institutions, while also providing currency exchange and remittance solutions. The company started out in 2012 as OpenCoin, before renaming themselves to Ripple Labs and then just Ripple in 2015. Their main product is the RippleNet, a global payments network that promises fast and cheap international payments.

Ripple is distinct and separate fromXRP. For clarity, Ripple has declared that they do not own or control the XRP Ledger.

2. What is XRP?

XRP is a digital currency that was created in 2004 by Ryan Fugger, a Vancouver-based software developer. In 2012, Ryan handed over control of XRP to Jed McCaleb and Chris Larsen, who then founded OpenCoin (as mentioned above) with Arthur Britto.

XRP’s main use is to facilitate transactions on RippleNet. XRP acts as a bridge between fiat currencies (such as the US Dollar), allowing people to send money digitally at high speeds, with low costs. XRP can process transactions in seconds as compared to Bitcoin (minutes) and can handle higher transaction volumes as well.

3. Transactions on the RippleNet are incredibly fast and cheap

Transactions on the RippleNet take around 3 to 5 seconds on average to process, making it faster than Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin. Transactions are priced at 0.00001XRP per transaction. Also, that amount in XRP tokens is “burned” after being deducted from the overall transaction value, and never added back into the pool of circulating XRP. Therefore in theory, XRP has a finite, deflating supply.

4. XRP is “pre-mined”, and no new XRP will be created

100 billion XRP was created at the beginning of the token’s existence, in contrast with Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin, where new tokens are being minted regularly as new blocks are added to the blockchain.

However, most XRP is locked away from circulation, with only 45 billion XRP in circulation today, and most of the rest being locked away by Ripple.

5. XRP tokens are however not “cheaper” than most other cryptocurrencies

A common perception is that at under $1 per XRP token, XRP is cheap as compared to BTC, ETH and LTC. However, when taking into account the volume of XRP in circulation, XRP has actually been consistently placed in the top 10 largest cryptocurrencies, ahead of LTC.

Example: Litecoin has a circulation of 66 million LTC at a price of around $200 each (market cap of $12B). For comparison, the 45 billion XRP in circulation at a price of around $0.55 per token (market cap of $26B).

As of March 2021, XRP’s price has been trading around $0.55, giving it a market capitalisation of $27B, placing it 7th among all cryptocurrencies. From this perspective, XRP should be seen as “more expensive” than Litecoin, which is currently 10th by market capitalisation.

Now moving on to aspects of Ripple that investors should know about:

6. Ripple still holds over half of all XRP tokens in existence

When Ripple’s founders acquired 100 billion XRP tokens as mentioned previously, they were distributed as follows:

  • Ripple (Company): 80 billion XRP
  • Jed McCaleb (Founder): 9 billion
  • Chris Larsen (Founder): 7 billion
  • Arthur Britto (Founder): 4 billion

Ripple has sold around 25 billion XRP since 2012, while keeping the remaining 55 billion in escrow. The action to lock up the bulk of the tokens was taken in 2017 to boost confidence amongst XRP holders that Ripple – with its large supply of XRP, would not dump its tokens onto the market, causing a rout in its price.

Overall, Ripple believes that holding XRP tokens incentivises the company to improve on the payment solutions

Jed McCaleb regularly sells his XRP holdings, and currently holds around 480 million XRP. On the other hand, Chris Larsen still owns around 5 billion XRP.

5. Up to 1 billion XRP is released into the market every month

A maximum of 1 billion tokens are regularly released for sale by the company on a monthly basis. The company publishes quarterly “XRP Markets Reports” that detail the monthly volume of XRP tokens that are removed from escrow, at what price the tokens are sold at, what the funds are used for, and how many tokens are put back into escrow.

5. Ripple is funded in part by the regular sale of XRP tokens they own

The company has publicly suggested that they are using the proceeds of the sales from these tokens to fund their operations and turn a profit at the same time, without which they would be potentially loss-making. This has been a source of criticism and continues to be a major point of contention potentially holding back major institutional investment and usage of the RippleNet.

6. Ripple pays clients in XRP to use RippleNet

Ripple has announced partnerships with “over 200” financial institutions worldwide, using a variety of Ripple’s solutions. The CEO himself has often declared that the volume of transactions Ripple handles are growing at “100%” per quarter. Detailed transaction information has however, never been released.

When directly questioned in 2019 if companies were receiving incentives to sign up with Ripple, their CEO Brad Garlinghouse stated that “it depends upon the shape and size and type and how high a priority” they are.

In early-2020, it was discovered that Ripple’s high-profile partnership with global remittance company MoneyGram saw Ripple actually deliver regular payments to the Nasdaq-listed company, amounting to $11.3M across H22019.

Across their partnership, MoneyGram has received over $60M in XRP as “market development fees” from Ripple since 2018. These payments were made in XRP, and were given as “market development fees”, as compensation to MoneyGram for “developing and bringing liquidity to foreign exchange markets”.

As of March 2021, MoneyGram announced an end to the partnership citing Ripple’s ongoing litigation with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

7. XRP’s de-centralisation is debatable

Ripple uses its own method of validating transactions, the “Ripple Protocol Consensus Algorithm” (RPCA), as opposed to the “proof-of-work” used by high-profile cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin (also known as Bitcoin mining).

Out of around 1’000 validators on the RPCA, Ripple selects a list of around 36 validators – the “Unique Node List” (UNL) that act as the final arbitrators to finalise transactions. Ripple specifies UNLs as validators that participants believe will not act to defraud them. The current list of criteria to get on the UNL is however currently unspecified. All in all, UNLs are the unique element that allows XRP to process transactions very quickly and cheaply as validators are centralised as compared to other cryptocurrencies.

Notably however, since the launch of the Ripple Ledger in 2012, there have been few instances where a validator outside of the default UNL has made it to this list, although Ripple now directly controls a smaller proportion of the network with 6 nodes (about 16% of the total network). This percentage has dropped steadily over the years, as Ripple aims to further de-centralise XRP.

More Educational Articles​

Blockchain typically refers to a data storage technology/technique that arranges data into chronologically ordered, discrete (separately countable) blocks. The data blocks all have their own

Read More >

Cryptocurrencies derive their name from two concepts – cryptography, and currencies. Cryptocurrencies were named as such because of the encryption techniques that are used to

Read More >

Bitcoin is a digital currency that was launched in 2009, following the publication of the now-famous Bitcoin whitepaper titled “Bitcoin: A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System”.

Read More >